My Pop Life #21 : That’s The Way Of The World – Earth Wind & Fire


Featured image

That’s The Way Of The World   –   Earth Wind & Fire

..Don’t hesitate – ’cause the world seems cold
Stay young at heart ’cause you’re never never never old at heart…

September 1976, I’m back from my gap-year trip round the United States with Simon, and I’m in my first week at LSE – The London School of Economics – where I’d signed up for a degree in Law.   There was a student bar downstairs in Carr-Saunders Hall on Fitzroy Street W1, and we gathered there to meet the other first years. One chap – Derek Sherwin – had been at Priory with me, and he introduced me to Norman Wilson from Barnsley and Lewis McLeod from Glasgow.    Football was the first point of contact with lads.   Derek and I were Brighton & Hove Albion fans, Norman was Sheffield Wednesday til he died, and Lewis was Rangers.   “Oh” I said, “Does that mean you’re a Protestant then?”   Lewis paused for effect, then in the thickest accent I’d ever heard intoned :  “I think that’s a very naive question actually”.   So everything was fine after that.  As we played darts I noticed a dark-eyed woman across the bar.   Like a vision of something.   She noticed me staring at her, but instead of looking away in embarrassment I maintained my stare right into her big brown eyes.  Electricity !   At some point in the ensuing days we introduced ourselves and became an item.   Mumtaz was from Pakistan and had just finished her degree, I was just starting mine, but she was working at the halls of residence for spare cash.   She became my second ever proper girlfriend.   We would be together from that time, on and off, for nine years.   At that point Mumtaz lived in William Goodenough House on Mecklenburgh Square WC1, which is enough syllables to keep anyone entertained.   Deepest Bloomsbury, just behind Russell Square, and kind of on the way from where I lived (right underneath the Post Office Tower) to the LSE which is on The Aldwych, just beneath Lincoln’s Inn Fields.

Featured image

Mumtaz had a number of LPs which I’d never heard before.  I’d like to pay tribute to three of them here : Fulfillingness First Finale by Stevie Wonder (amazing), Holland by The Beach Boys (fantastic) and That’s The Way Of The World by Earth Wind and Fire, which is stunning.  It was their first LP,  has quite incredible vocals, an amazing feel, and embodies the word “soul”.   I’d never even heard of the band.   The LP came out in 1975 while I was in the 6th form in Sussex but it hadn’t dented my periphery, now it was part of the soundtrack to my second great love affair.   The opening song “Shining Star” is irresistible uptempo affirmation : “you’re a shining star, no matter who you are” and then comes track two, the title track, slow burn, laid-back groove, incredible vocals : “Hearts afire create loves desire takes you high and higher to the world you belong…” and an almost spoken word section, gospel-flecked, soft, reaching up and out to a pleading harmonic shape which is one of the peak moments in soul music for me.   Wonderful music.

At some point that winter I told Simon – now in his first year at Cambridge – about Earth Wind & Fire, because Simon had been my bullshit detector and music guru at school.  Not 100% – there were bands I loved that he really didn’t (Gentle Giant!) – but on the whole I respected his taste – he had an older sister Deborah, who was going out with a guy who played the drums properly – Andrew Rankin – and so Simon’s musical filter was more shall we say ‘refined’ than mine.  “Nah” he said “they’re not anything much”.  I disagreed.  I was right.  Sometimes I am!

Or in this case, Mumtaz was right.   She had great music.   She was born in Aden, schooled in Murree in the Himalayan foothills and her parents lived in Karachi.   They didn’t know about me for years.   She’d come to England to get a degree, and was now doing the Legal Exams and studying to be a solicitor.  We were a secret for quite a long time, snuck away in William Goodenough House in Mecklenburgh Square WC1.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephen Kalinich
    Mar 28, 2015 @ 10:59:55

    I think they are great too.I love the versatility of you choices and the stories that go along with them .You trigger in others many emotions.IN my car i am reliebeong many moments tucked in there that i never thing about and it is healing.You seem to speak to many people.
    I love this blog and this record.It brings back many memories .Joe Wissert who produced many Earth Wind and Fire records is my great friend.I had dinner with him this week.Ralph you are gifted at that .You seem to light moneys of life up like one of those colored markers Highlighters to times in life .I love these that you are posting

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Magicmenagerie's Blog

Leave a Reply

