My Pop Life #8 : I Wanna Be Like You – Louis Prima (with Phil Harris)


Featured image

I Wanna Be Like You  –  Louis Prima (with Phil Harris)

…I’ve reached the top and had to stop and that’s what’s bothering me…

The Jungle Book came out in 1967 when I was ten and we all went to see it in the cinema in Eastbourne. Maybe mum took us? Andrew was one year old so who knows.  It burned its way into my young brain forever. The tiger, Shere Khan, the snake Kaa, the Beatlesque vultures.  But this section mainly. King Louis was genius. To make the song a New Orleans jazz shuffle (another Louis – Armstrong – was the template) was particularly clever.  To then ask Louis Prima to sing it was inspired.  When the writers approached Prima he said: “You tryin’ to make a monkey outta me? OK I’m in”

Featured image

And the animators became inspired in turn by the band in the studio and how they played it.  Phil Harris added his vocal as Baloo which is also hilarious, joyous and completely swings…see the film below.  Of course I had no idea who sang it when I was a child.  Didn’t matter to me one jot.  A singing monkey.  Great.  As one grows through life these things become intriguing and eventually important.  Who was that monkey?  I’d come across Louis Prima at Paulette & Beverley’s legendary parties at Club 61 in Clapham during the late 80s/90s where “I Ain’t Got Nobody” would be belted out at top volume around 4a.m. (by all the single ladies and all of the married ones too) after a particularly excellent & potent caiperinha mixture had done its work.  Then later linked him to Rudyard Kipling and Disney.  Funny old world.  What a tune though.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Donna from MyOBT
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 20:49:31

    I just went straight back to my childhood. Thank you so much for posting!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Steve McNicholas
    Mar 28, 2015 @ 09:41:59

    Ha! We used to sing this one in Pookiesnackenburger, always a favourite with us and the crowds. Saw a young band at The Old Market not so long ago, at a White Mink night, and they played it too, the song fresh and fun as ever…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

